Connect with us

5 must-read books like “The 4 Hour Work Week” by Timothy Ferriss

By

I’ll be honest—straightforward, the book “The 4 Hour Work Week” is really BAD because if your business rivals read (and use) it, they will leave you in the smoke, and you will lose and maybe even go bankrupt. Therefore, I propose to use this book!

On the other hand, if you’ve already pulled all the tips out of it, use other books that complement Timothy Ferris’ ideas.
Man with a book The 4 Hour Work Week

If you love books like “The 4 Hour Work Week” by Timothy Ferriss, try these ones:

1. The Motivation Hacker, by Nick Winter

“Have you read The Motivation Hacker?” a business partner once asked, with staring eyes in which the following words could be read, “Alex, read this book as soon as possible; otherwise, you will oversleep your success!”

“F*ck it, what are you explaining here? I’m a tough guy anyway!” I could answer him, but I smiled, which meant: This book is one of the main ones when it comes to motivation. If I hadn’t read such books, I doubt we would have known each other.

2. The Procrastination Cure: 21 Proven Tactics For Conquering Your Inner Procrastinator, Mastering Your Time, And Boosting Your Productivity!

Everyone encounters procrastination, even Elon Musk. But some are coping, and others are not. And how are you doing? What if you had swallowed the procrastination cure? 

The text of this book of self-development is embellished with charismatic information. You will find everything here, even Mark Twain’s advice about how to beat the f*cking procrastination.

3. Deep Work: Rules for Focused Success in a Distracted World

“Hey, Alex, did you hear the last Boba Fett episode came out? Wanna watch?” a friend announced to me. So I thought, “Damn it, I wanted to finish this article about books like “The 4 Hour Work Week”… Eh.” 

Yes, I like Boba Fett because this series is the perfect combination of tenderness and seriousness. I’m talking about Grogu and Boba Fett himself. Although I love it, I said, “Thanks Martin, but I’ll do it later.” 

Because there are many more important things than the series, or maybe I’m wrong? Answer: What is better to watch imaginary actors solve problems with a lightsaber or become a hero who cuts problems in half in real life?

Seriously, what’s better, to be an ordinary observer (millions watch series) or the creator of your own life struggling with challenges?  

Oh yes, answer, what you care about, reader? I know you have goals, dreams, but why are you distracted by other things? Why do you forget about your goals so often? Why does distraction affect you? 

You will find the answers in the book “Deep Work.” 

It will help you drown your whole body and molecules into work.

By the way, it’s important to warn you that you don’t need to drown in “Deep Work” 24/7. We are talking about workaholism. (I write about it in the article “Stop trying to be productive 24/7.”) So I propose to mix the pace of work. That is, you need to take breaks between deep work. This means that 2 hours in the morning can be devoted to serious work, then have high-quality relaxation and re-immerse in work! 

“I tried but failed” you will complain? 

I know it’s complicated, but it’s possible. I did it—you will succeed too. 

Oh yes, you can and should concentrate, but it takes knowledge—theory, and practice. Therefore, you need to read “Deep Work.” 

In the book, you will find the most interesting tips and journey through memorable stories-from Carl Jung, who divided to building a stone tower in the woods. It helped him focus his mind, like the Jedi from “Star Wars.”

4. Zero To One, by Peter Thiel

This book can break a series of beliefs that prevent you from achieving your goals. 

For example, it says you don’t have to be the first in everything. 

Because it happens that friends say, “Your business idea is good, but there is already a company that does it. You had to act faster… You’re not first. Look for a company where you’ll be first!”  

We talk about the definition of “first-mover advantage.” 

The first-mover advantage states that if you’re the first entrant into a market, you will become new Bill Gates and capture significant market share because all other competitors are too slow. Peters Thiel argues that it can work, but moving first is a tactic, not a goal. What matters most is creating future income flows; therefore, being the first mover won’t help you if someone else comes along and unseats you. It’s much better to be the last mover—that is, he could be the last great innovator in a certain market and profit from monopoly profits for years, if not decades.

So if you think that you are too slow and there is no place for you on the market—this one statement is bullshit.

Try to drive to the parking lot. Even if it is occupied, someone will definitely leave and liberate the place. This means that there’s always someone who goes bankrupt, someone is bored with the activity, so opportunities are always waiting for you. 

But this idea is not main in the book—it’s full of useful thoughts. Use them! 

5. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change

I could say that Stephen R. Covey’s self-development book, “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People,” still is one of the best-selling books because you’ve heard of it anyway, let me just say a few things: 

  1. Although this business book was published in 1989, it breaks all trends.
  2. It inspired me to make any changes. 
  3. The book helps you answer many questions yourself.

For example, the book’s author asks us: What one thing could you do to improve your business or professional life?

Although this question sounds banal, we must answer it. 

And you, did you answer this question? 

Trust me; if you asked yourself this question at least once a week, you would achieve muuuuuuch more! Personally checked!

The final thoughts about books like The 4 Hour Work Week

This article lists five books like The 4 Hour Work Week.

I know you’d like to read them, but there are many obstacles in life, so you’ll soon forget this article. So I have a suggestion. Take advantage of the six-week challenge. Read in the first month this book “The 4 Hour Work Week” by Tim Ferriss. After, grab the first book that is recommended here. In five months, you can read even five books like The 4 Hour Work Week!

Do you accept this challenge?

Let’s descuss!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *